Nyalunya Mixed Day Secondary School, sponsored by the AIC Church, was the brain child of the former M.P. of Kisumu Town East Constituency, Hon. GorSungu who initiated construction of four Mixed Day Secondary Schools in Kisumu Town East Constituency.

A Nyalunya Sub Location committee was formed to look at the modalities of starting off a school and members comprised of the following:

  1. Joseph Onyango Obuya, Chairman (P.T.A. Chairman Nyalunya Primary School)
  2. George Obonyo Oloo , Secretary   (Head Teacher Nyalunya Primary School)
  3. Patrick AndhogaNyamori (CDF) (Chairman Central Kolwa Location)
  4. Joseph OburaOnyona – Member
  5. Elder Edward Nyakiti –     Member
  6. JosphatOwiti –   ( Deputy Head Teacher Nyalunya Primary ) Member
  7. WilkisterAdera (Treasurer – P.T.A. Nyalunya Primary School)   Member
  8. Florence Otieno – Member
  9. Joyce Ochuka   –   Member
  10. Tobias Aloo Ogalo – Member
  11. JoashJuma – Member

The first meeting held on 2nd June, 2005 settled on a Mixed Day Secondary School and that was to be at Nyalunya Primary School Western side of the compound. In sitting the school, members considered the geographical central position of the school in the East and Central Kolwa locations and beyond.

The Kisumu Town East Constituency Development Fund (CDF) catered for all the construction needs. The first building was composed of 5 classes one of which was the school administration office.

The Nyalunya Primary Head teacher, Mr. JosphatOwiti was temporarily the Head teacher, the position he ably handled before the school was registered. The first student to be convinced to join the new was Erick Odhiambo B on January 2006 who sat for his KCPE in 2005. He was taught alone for 11/2 months by the then Head teacher Nyalunya Primary Mr. George Oloo, the then Deputy Head teacher Nyalunya Primary; JosphatOwiti and Mrs. Jacinta Oiko while committee members were still hunting for more students in and around Central, East and West Kolwa and as far as Alendu areas in Nyando for more students. The first students admitted in form 1 did their KCSE examinations in the year 2009 form 4.

The building committee remained under chairpersonship of Mr. Obuya during the three quarters of completion of the construction and there after Mr. Caleb Oguya took over the Chairmanship position in early 2006 to date. After registration of the school as a Mixed Day Secondary School, Mr. Caleb Oguya was later appointed the first BOG Chairman and Mr. Obuya as the first PTA Chairman respectively. The first school Principal to officially head the school as a TSC employee was Mr. Sam Odhong’.

From the year 2008 to date, Construction of a one storey building housing a school Laboratory and administration block is ongoing and partially in use.

On 14th December, 2011, a new principal Mr. George Onyango was posted to Nyalunya Mixed Day Secondary School to replace Mr. Samson Omondi Odhong’ who was transferred to Withur Boys’ Secondary school in Nyando Constituency.

The school was registered as a Government institution in 2002 vides Certificate Reg. No. GP/A/3965/2006 by the Ministry of Education. A new registration certificate was issued being GP/A/8065/10.